Question Confuse with VB.NET

Status
Not open for further replies.

binold

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi,

I have been programming in Java, VB and Powerbuilder for like years. Now as an instructor I am teaching the VB.Net language and someone asked me if I can join their company and we will be using VB.Net. Yes I am confident that I can program using VB.net but the problem is I am really confused if what is VB.Net and where can I used VB.Net, what is the difference with VB6? and also I am more of a programmer for Client/Server applications not more of a web developer.

Can you help me with my dilemma?

Thanks

why it says my post has been moved? Where did it go?

I moved it to the 'Programmer Chat' forum, which is what this thread is about.

If you're seriously considering the job, you've probably got a lot of the required skills already, I'm assuming this because you says that you're teaching vb.net so you should be pretty familiar with the language, the tools, methodologies, etc. If you're worried about making web app, you should be able to take an intro class/course (or 2) somewhere in your area which would start to "fill in the blanks" about how to do things in a web environment (you already know the language).

Hi thanks for the reply.

Oh btw if you are saying web app, I already know how to use ASP.Net and PHP because I studied ASP way back in college and ASP.Net on my masteral degree. But the problem is I really do not know how to differentiate VB and VB.Net?

Is VB the same with VB.Net removing the .Net framework/classes and console programming? It seems no one is actually directly answering this question.

For me VB is actually creating Client/Server apps and ASP for web development using VB concepts techniques, and language.

So what is VB.NET?? sorry... I am really confused...

VB.Net is the newest VB language and runs on the .Net framework.