mikewitney

Programming Experience
Beginner
i need to have 3 timers running in one form

one wil count down from a time inputed by the user ie 4hrs 30 mins

and the other two will just count up and can be paused at anytime

can anyone point me in the right direction
i am using visual stuidio 2008
and i am still learning i am using a book called visual basic.net and visual basic.net for dummies

this is an application for me as i am an hgv driver and i am looking at a way to help me keep my driving times in check

this is being used on my pda windows mobile 2005

timers (from the toolbox) have an interval property which is the number of milliseconds until the timer_tick event occurs. you could start a timer with an interval of 4.5 hours, or you could use a timespan
have a look at this thread for how to use timespans

you could start a timer with an interval of 4.5 hours, or you could use a timespan
If you wanted a timer to count down from any given time, wouldn't it be pretty stupid to set the interval to this time? Nothing would happen during this interval. How could that enable the code to count down?

If you wanted a timer to count down from any given time, wouldn't it be pretty stupid to set the interval to this time? Nothing would happen during this interval. How could that enable the code to count down?

i meant if you just want to be notified after 4.5 hours.
alternatively i recommended the timespan method

Timers are not used to time things. A Timer is like an alarm clock. It simply notifies you when an amount of time has elapsed. If you want to actually measure how long something takes then you can use a Stopwatch.

If you want to display a timed countdown then would use a Timer but not to actually measure the time. You would simply create a Date object that represented when you wanted the countdown to end. You could then use a Timer to display the time remaining at an interval, which would likely be 1 second.
VB.NET:
Private endTime As Date