data sync

pips06

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi, i was wondering whether anybody could assist with an issue im having with my smart device application.

Basically, i've created a smart device application that utilises SQL CE. I want to be able to enter information into my client database (on the smart device)and then sync it back to my sql express database. My application is working fine although the problem im facing is when it comes to sync'ing the updates i've made to the server.
Im relatively new to vb.net and data synchronization but have been following a number of walkthroughs for OCS applications.

Anyhow, when i try to initiate the bi-directional sync i get the following error,

"Value can not be null. Parameter name: ServerSyncProvider"

This is the code im using to initiate the sync,

VB.NET:
   Private Sub NewMenuItemMenuItem1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles NewMenuItemMenuItem1.Click

Dim syncAgent As WQACacheSyncAgent = New WQACacheSyncAgent()
        Dim syncStats As Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.SyncStatistics = syncAgent.Synchronize()

Me.WATERQUALITYASSURANCEDataSet.Customer.Merge(CustomerTableAdapter.GetData())

End Sub

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Ben.

Last edited by a moderator:
I've never used sync, so this answer is a little woolly. Somewhere in your code, one of the classes youre using an instance of, has a parameter to a method or constructor that sets the value of the Property called ServerSyncProvider and you are not calling that method or constructor, or you are not setting the value of the ServerSyncProvider property before attempting to use the class.

Google doesnt know what a WQACacheSyncAgent is but guessing that it was a derivative of SyncAgent, I looked up the docs. The only thing I see in reference to w.r.t to ServerSyncProvider is the "RemoteProvider" property.

As hence a wild stab in the dark at your problem: