Expanding the implementation of an application with DLLs

Terry

Programming Experience
3-5
I have written a fairly large application that includes a module with one self-contained procedure that ultimately is initiated by a control on a userform. During development it was convenient to have this procedure embedded as part of the application but for the full roll-out version will need to be seperate because it will contain user generated data and I understand that it is not good practice to have the source code effectively updated by a user by having to update of ingest this procedure into the source file.

Therefore, I understand that I will have to work with DLL's in order to have procedures which can be changed independant of the main application. I am new to DLLs and have been trying to piece together what I need to do. Firstly, I assume that I will need to use a DLL for the user generated input function. ie The users input file (I'll leave the details out of that for the time being) will be used to generate a DLL which will then be linked to the main application for execution. However, I then have more questions....