Question Form Authentication Ticket to Store Additional User Data

beemomo

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi, this is my first time posting in here. Hopefully I post my thread in the right place.

I am trying to implement login page using Form Authentication in ASP.net using vb code.I follow the steps in How To Implement Forms-Based Authentication in Your ASP.NET Application by Using Visual Basic .NET. I created a function in login page :

VB.NET:
Private Function ValidateUser(ByVal strUsername As String, ByVal strPassword As String) As Boolean
and call it in btnLogIn_Click

VB.NET:
Protected Sub btnLogIn_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnLogIn.Click
     If ValidateUser(txtUserName.Text, txtPassword.Text) = True Then
          FormsAuthentication.RedirectFromLoginPage(txtUserName.Text, chkPersistCookie.Checked)
          Response.Redirect("MaintainUsers.aspx", True)
     Else
          Response.Redirect("Login.aspx", True)
End If

and in masterpage page_load , the usename is displayed in the welcome message

VB.NET:
Protected Sub Page_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Load
     If HttpContext.Current.User.Identity.IsAuthenticated Then
          Me.lblWelcomeMessage.Text = "Welcome," + " " + HttpContext.Current.User.Identity.Name
     End If
End Sub

Things works fine and i can get the username display in label using the RedirectFromLoginPage method.