Good SQL Server Version Match for VS 2010?

jlsj

Programming Experience
10+
Hi,

15 years ago I worked as a full-time programmer with VB6 and SQL Server. Now programming is mostly a hobby for me. I?ve been using Visual Studio 2010 and Access to develop some small, stand-alone applications, but one of them has outgrown Access. I?d like to start working with SQL Server again, but I don?t know which version is a good match for VS 2010. Which version do you recommend? And if you can recommend a good book on SQL Server, that would be great.

Thanks!

Hi,

15 years ago I worked as a full-time programmer with VB6 and SQL Server. Now programming is mostly a hobby for me. I?ve been using Visual Studio 2010 and Access to develop some small, stand-alone applications, but one of them has outgrown Access. I?d like to start working with SQL Server again, but I don?t know which version is a good match for VS 2010. Which version do you recommend? And if you can recommend a good book on SQL Server, that would be great.

Thanks!
Honestly any of them, 2008 and newer.
At my current job all of our Sql Servers are 2014 and we have plans in 18 months to migrate to Sql 2016.
We predominitely use VS2015 for projects, but we still have a few 2010 projects that we haven't migrated forward yet, but that being said Sql 2014 is what we use.

Are you required to use VS 2010? If not then you might consider upgrading to the latest version of VS. It depends what edition you're using but the Community Edition is pretty much fully-featured (unlike Express editions) and is free for single developers.