Question How to store and retrieve files......

Jeraldin

Programming Experience
Beginner
I'm a MCA student..
I'm doing my final year project....
Please clarify my doubt...
How to store word,pdf,excel file in sql server 2008 and also retrieve that files......

Last edited:
Generally speaking, if you're going to store arbitrary file data in SQL Server then you would use a `varbinary` column and store Byte arrays in it. You can get a Byte array from a file or save a Byte array to a file using the File.ReadAllBytes or .WriteAllBytes method.

While you should already be using parameters to insert values into SQL code anyway, you have no real option when using Byte arrays, because they have no textual representation. If you don't already know how to do that, follow the Blog link in my signature below and check out my post on Parameters In ADO.NET.

Please explain with coding...

That wouldn't be explaining, but rather writing your code for you. I have already explained and now I expect you to make an effort to implement what I have explained. If you have trouble then I have no issue helping further but if you just want to sit on your hands and let others do your thinking for you then I'm afraid that I'm not your man. I am willing to help if you can't do it but you don't even know that you can't do it if you haven't tried. If you have tried, show us what you tried, explain what you expected and also what actually happened.

A simpler approach that will also probably improve database performance would be to store a path to a network location in the database. You can fetch the path and just retrieve the file.

A simpler approach that will also probably improve database performance would be to store a path to a network location in the database. You can fetch the path and just retrieve the file.