Question Need help understanding constructors & data access

capella07

Programming Experience
1-3
Hello, all
I'm pretty new to VB programming (or any kind of programming for that matter!) - only about a year. I'm working on a project for WinCE.

I'm trying to use the following block of code to save to an existing record in a database on the device:
VB.NET:
Dim i As Integer
m_cWOs = m_objDB.GetWorkOrders()

For i = 1 To m_cWOs.Count

'Dim myreader As SqlServerCe.SqlCeDataReader
	'Dim existWO As New WorkOrder(myreader, m_objDB)

Dim existWO As WorkOrder = m_cWOs.Item(i)
	Select Case existWO.ID
		Case iWOID
			With existWO
				.CompleteDate = Today
				.CompletePercent = 100
				.CompletedAcres = objField.Acres
				.Save()
			End With
	End Select
Next
"m_cWOs" is a collection of WorkOrders, and "m_objDB" is the Local Database connection.

My intention is to run through the loop and when iWOID matches the ID field of existWO, I want to update the three fields in the Save() function in the WorkOrder.vb class.

Here is the beginning of that function:
VB.NET:
Public Function Save() As Boolean
	Dim objAdapter As SqlCeDataAdapter
	Dim c As SqlCeCommand
	Dim bInserting As Boolean
	Dim objDS As DataSet = New DataSet
	Dim objRow As DataRow
	Dim i As Integer

Save = False

Try
		objAdapter = New SqlCeDataAdapter
		c = m_objDB.Connection.CreateCommand()

I'm getting a "NullReferenceException" error on the last line (c = m_objDB.Connection...) with the Troubleshooting Tip saying "Use the "New" keyword to create an object instance." Since m_objDB is the only object in that line I checked & at that point in execution it is, indeed "Nothing". So I thought I need to use one of the constructors in the WorkOrder class.