Question Register settings

AAshok

Programming Experience
1-3
What is code snippet for removing or editing the references of registry(removing registry dependencies) from the config file ?
We get that reg key from the registry editor of sln file in solution explorer it seems....I am really new to this please someone help me !!

Registry

Friends,

Please tell me the possibilities of removing references of regKey from the application.

As my company is upgrading the citrix machine (Windows server 2003 to 2008) from 32 bit to 64 bit, also database is upgrading from 4.71 to 5.01 version. In this case, the registry key path changes and it will be looking for the reg key in the same path and will throw error. In stead, we have to change the path and will be ok when we reinstall the .exe and .msi files.

Also, major concern is my client is looking for a permanent solution as everytime if the version changes, the regkey changes instead they want to remove the references of that regkey which is effecting.

Please tell me how we can remove the references of regkey from the registry editor ?

I think that there's a bit of a language barrier but I'm afraid that it's not completely clear what you want. My best guess is that you are currently retrieving data from the Windows Registry and, due to some software upgrades, the location of that data is about to change, so you want a way to be able to handle that in future without recompiling your own application.

Assuming that is the case, the simple fact is that, if you need data from other applications and they store that data in the Registry, you have no choice but to read that data from the Registry. The thing is, a Registry key name or value name is just a String, so they can come from anywhere a String can come from. It's very easy to store text in an external file and then read it into a String at run time.