Question SqlDataSource question

olsonpm

Programming Experience
Beginner
So I'm refactoring code for an asp.net web app. I'm new to asp.net, and was surprised to learn about the data-binding within controls. It seems nice and simple, however it also seems to be mingling data code with logic (within this implementation). My question is how to use data-binding while still keeping the queries separated from the logic. If there isn't a way to do that, what would the best practice be in accomplishing the same task?

My concrete example is the following

VB.NET:
'myPage.aspx.designer.vb
    Protected WithEvents SqlHistoryTable As Global.System.Web.UI.WebControls.SqlDataSource

'myPage.aspx
<asp:SqlDataSource ID="SqlHistoryTable" runat="server" ProviderName="System.Data.OleDb">
            </asp:SqlDataSource>
'...
<dx:ASPxGridView ID="dgrHistory" ClientInstanceName="dgrHistory" runat="server" DataSourceID="SqlHistoryTable"
                    Width="831px" EnableCallBacks="False" KeyFieldName="Date">
'...

'myPage.aspx.vb --->This is where my conflict with data-binding occurs<---
SqlHistoryTable.SelectCommand = QueryFactory.GetHistoryTableCommand(
            Convert.ToDateTime(dtpStartDate.Text), Convert.ToDateTime(dtpEndDate.Text))

Originally I wanted my design to have a seperate database class to be closest to the data. A QueryFactory to store all my queries which only my DataAccess class would call. When I ran into the data-binding however, I am now calling my QueryFactory outside my DataAccess class which seems odd to me since it's not what I had intended.

thanks for your help,
Phil

Let me preface this post by saying that it is not an answer to your question, but rather some advice that may help you in the future.