What's the Best way to learn VB?

Rex_Beginner

Programming Experience
Beginner
I'm attempting to learn VB, SQL, and VS.2005 at the same time. I've been an AS/400 programmer for 28 years and I'm way behind the curve on this technology. I've started my first application but I need help. I can handle SQL pretty easily because I've used it in my job. But now my employer wants me to learn VB and VS. Can someone recommend a good tutorial that I and my fellow programmers can use to learn this and be productive in a relatively short time. We have some projects that will be coming up soon. My employer will be purchasing the tutorial (hopefully one time for all of our team). Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

If this site were active you'd have an answer by now.
I am in need also of learning of best online tutorial that exists.

Can anyone help me get started. How do i know what .NET FRAMEWORK I have on my computer. I have VISTA installed in my home laptop andWindos XP in my office computer. Please help me how can i get started in VB.NET programming.

Please help me how can i get started in VB.NET programming
First thing would probably be to download either vb.net or c#.net Express edition.
Next step would probably be to determine your actual skills. If you never learned any programming language, you might look for some absolute beginner materials (ebook, pdf whatever). This might be a starting point:
Development for Beginners | Tools, Lessons, Resources on MSDN

Can anyone help me get started. How do i know what .NET FRAMEWORK I have on my computer. I have VISTA installed in my home laptop andWindos XP in my office computer. Please help me how can i get started in VB.NET programming.

as far as i know, .net framework comes with windows vista and no need to install it. if you want to install the just the framework in your xp computer you have to download the .net framework from microsoft but you can also install it with ms visual studio