Windows Mobile 6 - Treeview issues

robhermans

Programming Experience
10+
Hi:
I am using VS 2005 with WM 6 professional SDK to develop PDA app. I am using the treeview ... a couple of problems:
1. When I loop thru the nodes to search for a node using the following code I only see the parent nodes whereas a nodecount gives 38 I have 3 parents, 6 children and 29 grandchildren.

MsgBox(tvFind.GetNodeCount(True))

For Each n As TreeNode In tvFind.Nodes
MsgBox("Looking for " & sFindItem)
MsgBox("this Node:" & UCase$(n.Text))
If InStr(UCase$(n.Text), sFindItem) > 0 Then
lInstance = lInstance + 1
If lInstance >= lItemIndex Then
'MsgBox UCase$(oThisNode.Text)
'Found matching item
TreeViewFindNode = n
Exit For
End If
End If
Next
2. When a node is selected in code it is not highlighted - if I tap the treeview anywhere the selected node is highlighted ... I don't know how to get the focus on the treeview - can I simulate a tap?

Many thanks for any help - I am a beginner and welcome all help and advice!
Rob

Last edited:
1. When I loop thru the nodes to search for a node using the following code I only see the parent nodes whereas a nodecount gives 38 I have 3 parents, 6 children and 29 grandchildren.

I dont think your problem is specific to CF.

At the moment, you arent recursing all the children of each node, which is why you are only seeing the parent nodes.

VB.NET:
        Dim nodes As TreeNodeCollection = TreeView1.Nodes
        For Each n As TreeNode In nodes
            RecurseNode(n)
        Next

Private Sub RecurseNode(ByVal treeNode As TreeNode)
        ' Print each node recursively. 
        MessageBox.Show(treeNode.Text) 'this node
        For Each tn As TreeNode In treeNode.Nodes
            RecurseNode(tn) 'now recurse all the children of this node
        Next
    End Sub