Question Am I installing something I already have?

kristynedwards

Programming Experience
Beginner
I'm a college student going for a degree in Computer Information Systems. I know absolutely nothing about it except that I enjoy anything to do with a computer but as far as the programs used, etc., I'm still clueless at this point. I've only had one course (C++ programming with Visual Basic 2008) so far to do with my degree so I'm very new still. In my spare time, I'm looking to gain any experience I can to do with my major and anything that can help me in the long run land a job. I've been checking out job offers on Monster.com, etc. to see what employers are looking for and I've noticed several asking for a high level experience using Microsoft.Net and, I believe, ASP.Net. Now, I don't know what either of those programs are, but I searched around a bit and found advice saying to download the express version of Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 and to dig in... Find tutorials, videos, maybe a book or two, etc. My question is, I already have Visual Basic 2008 express edition (Visual C++ 9.0) from my previous course. Is the program I'm being referred to download not the same one I already have, just a newer version? I apologize for what may seem to be a really stupid question to anyone with experience, but I'm just trying to figure it all out.

Thanks in advance, Kristy

I'm still clueless at this point. I've only had one course (C++ programming with Visual Basic 2008)
Point taken ;) VB and C++ are two different languages... If you have VB Express and want to do ASP.Net you need to install Visual Web Developer Express as well, this is the dedicated Express web development IDE. From this link Microsoft Express Home you'll find it in Web section.