Assigning File Extensions and Using them

ImDaFrEaK

Programming Experience
5-10
Sorry to ask for alot but I am self taught and this information is hard to find. I need to assign a certain file extension to my application. When the user clicks on this file type it will run in my application. Further; I need to know how to use this information in my application. How do I tell my application to use the file chosen to be started with it?

I apologize if this is too much but any help would be great. This includes books, links, or examples. Thankyou so much:)

Ok, I think I have the jist of that but I am a little lost on how i tell my application what to do with that information. For example: I double click on a text file; what Sub Procedure get's that command?

Environment.GetCommandLineArgs method. I'm a little short on time right now, here's what doc says:
returns "An array of string where each element contains a command line argument. The first element is the executable file name, and the following zero or more elements contain the remaining command line arguments."

Thanks, I am looking into that now. If you have an example it would be great. :) Thanks again, but hopefully I will figure it out.

VB.NET:
Dim cla As String() = Environment.GetCommandLineArgs()

If cla.Length > 1 Then
    If IO.File.Exists(cla(1)) Then
        MessageBox.Show("You have chosen to open the file " & cla(1))
    Else
        MessageBox.Show("Cannot find the file " & cla(1))
    End If
End If

Ok, that's great and pretty much what I am looking for but where do I put that in the code? B/C I have never used that I am assuming it goes into the startup module or form but can I put it into the my.application startup event?

Ok, I most be totally ignorant to as what is going on with this. Here is what I have done.