Exception of type 'System.Data.OleDb.OleDbException'

JH82

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi guys, my first post on here and i'm relatively new to VB.net so go easy on me please :D

I am doing a simple program to display some database records and at the moment i am writing code in a form load event procedure to populate a combobox from the database. My code looks like......

Imports System.Data
Imports System.Data.OleDb

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

Dim idConnectionString As String = "Provider=Microsoft.JET.OLEDB.4.0;data source=C:\Documents and Settings\Preferred Customer\My Documents\MCAD-MCSD\Doughnut Shop\bin\TheDoughnutShop.mdb"

Dim idConnection As OleDbConnection = New OleDbConnection(idConnectionString)

Dim sqlString As String = "SELECT * FROM Customers"

Dim idAdapter As OleDbDataAdapter = New OleDbDataAdapter(sqlString, idConnection)

Dim idDataSet As DataSet = New DataSet

idAdapter.Fill(idDataSet, "Customers")

cbCustomerID.DataSource = idDataSet.DefaultViewManager

It is throwing the excpetion "An unhandled exception of type 'System.Data.OleDb.OleDbException' occurred in system.data.dll" at the line i have highlighted in red.

any ideas?

(apologies if this is in the wrong place by the way)

jim

I managed to solve this one guys, turns out my connection string data source was slightly wrong. moved the file and changed the code.

Problem is, now, the combo box populates with 6 items (there are 6 items in the database) but instead of 1,2,3,4,5,6 as it should be, each item is "System.Data.DataRowView "

Any ideas where i'm going wrong?

updated code........

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

Dim idConnectionString As String = "Provider=Microsoft.JET.OLEDB.4.0;data source=C:\The Doughnut Shop.mdb"
Dim idConnection As OleDbConnection = New OleDbConnection(idConnectionString)