Hangman program issues..

eric_r

Programming Experience
Beginner
Im fairly new to VB.NET and I am making the infamous Hangman program.

So far Ive managed to draw a random word from a text file and display it in a label on form load, but what I really want to do is convert all of the characters to an underscore so they can't see it.

I am debating on that, or just letting a reader count the characters in the word and assign a certain amount of underscores to the label instead of converting anything.

Like I said, I am NEW so tips or direction would be much appreciated. If I could get ahold of my professor I would.

Thanks!

all strings (including the Text property in labels, textbox's, etc..) have a Length property, this property is the number of characters in the string, in this case the number of letters in the word

you can use that to assign underscores to a label, for example
VB.NET:
'This assumes you have two labels on the form, one named "lblWord" the other named "lblUnderScores"
lblWord.Text = "Hangman"
For Counter As Integer = 1 To lblWord.Text.Length
  lblUnderScores.Text  &= "_"
Next Counter
'After this loop runs, lblUnderScores has 7 underscores in it

does that help?

Great, that did help.

Ive got it so there are 2 labels. One shows the actual word and one shows the underscores. I added a space after the "_" so it spaced them properly.

Now I am thinking about how I can get part of the _ _ _ _ label to show the letter when it is correctly guessed. I havent come up with anything yet :(

Appreciate your assistance!

You should make another label lblWordSpaced that contains the word with spaces.

add this code in your form_load:

VB.NET:
Dim spacedword As String = ""
For Each character As Char In lblWord.Text
spacedword = spacedword + character + " "
Next
lblWordSpaced.Text = spacedword

So now you have for example:
lblWord.Text = "HANGMAN"
lblWordSpaced.Text = "H A N G M A N"
lblUnderscores.Text = "_ _ _ _ _ _ _"