Help - Security using Domain Groups - WPF

kimosavi

Programming Experience
3-5
Hi,

I started developing an application in WPF w/VB and want to set the security to work with Domain Groups.

In there Database there is a table that stores the Domain and Group name.

When an user opens the application the application will search for the list of groups and validate that the user belogs to this list. If so, will open the app otherwise will exit. There will also be another table with individual usernames in case the Admin will like to just add one individual and not just a full group.

My problem is that, this is the first time attempting to do something like this and I have no knowledge of what imports, libraries or services should I use.

Currently I did the following:

VB.NET:
' Method1

Dim rs As New App.Services.Data.RecordSet("SELECT * FROM TBL_Security_Groups", "TBL_Security_Groups")
            For Each Row As System.Data.DataRow In rs.Results.Rows
                Dim vGroup As DirectoryServices.AccountManagement.GroupPrincipal
                vGroup = DirectoryServices.AccountManagement.GroupPrincipal.FindByIdentity(IsPublic.CurrentUser.Identity.Context, Row.Item("Domain") + "\" + Row.Item("Name"))
                If Not vGroup Is Nothing Then
                    If DirectoryServices.AccountManagement.UserPrincipal.Current.IsMemberOf(vGroup) Then
                        vResults = True
                        Exit For
                    End If
                End If
            Next

' Method2

Dim rs As New App.Services.Data.RecordSet("SELECT * FROM TBL_Security_Groups", "TBL_Security_Groups")
                If My.User.IsInRole(Row.Item("Domain") + "\" + Row.Item("Name")) Then
                    vResults = True
                    Exit For
                End If
            Next

Method 1 worked well with my local groups but took FOR EVER! to go down a list of 5 groups... It was wasting a lot of time in