How to find where form code is entered?

teleute

Programming Experience
10+
My apologies for this very likely stupid question - I'm brand new to VB .NET (and pretty new to OO programming and VS in general - I've usually been a scripter).

I have a VB .NET application with a main form. In main.vb there's a subroutine called frmMain_Load , which one presumes loads that main form. I'm trying to find what code if any gets executed before that subroutine. However, if I right-click on it and say "Find all references", it finds nothing, which puzzles me. If I put a breakpoint there it hits it, so that code is definitely being executed, but for the life of me I can't figure out what calls it, or how to find the very beginning of the code.

I think I've seen something about a code recording function in newer versions of VS, but we're on 2008 and it doesn't seem to exist.

Anyone who can shed some light on this for me? Thank you!

Hmmm...I just found the step into functionality, which partially answered my question (but brought up a couple more!). It seems to start in a file called ApplicationEvents.vb, with a Sub called MyApplicationStartup. This seems to be a standard thing for VB .NET, in place of the concept of it starting in "main", like in C and similar languages. (Correct?)

What I still find non-intuitive is that there's no visible call to the frmMain_Load subroutine. From what I can tell, the code knows to do this because frmMain is set as the "Startup form" in the project properties. Does that seem correct as well?

This is really odd to me, and taking a while to get my head around. To me, if there's code executing, I should be able to find the code that's telling it to execute...:-/

Last edited:
Load event handlers is called during the load sequence of the Form class by its internal code raising that event.