How to read pipe delimeted file and export the data to Oracle?

Nisha03

Programming Experience
5-10
I have one flat file which has information delimited by pipe. I need to read the file and insert data to Oracle.

Can someone please help me?

Thanks

Use a TextFieldParser to read the file and populate a DataTable. The MSDN documentation for the class has code examples. You can then use a DataAdapter to save the data to the database.

I am new to vb.net.

I would really appreciate if you or someone can help me with sample code. Also, I was looking for inserting data in Oracle database.

Thanks in advance.

Someone already has helped.
The MSDN documentation for the class has code examples.
Have you looked, for that part at least? Make what efforts you can rather than wait for something you can just copy and paste.

So what have you got so far? If we see that then we can help you extend it. For myself, I'm not keen on just providing code from the outset but, if I see effort, I'm more than happy to provide assistance, whether that be guidance, code or both.

I am trying with below code, and now I am trying to fetch the value and trying for inserting it in Oracle database. Thanks for the help.

Using
myReader As New Microsoft.VisualBasic.FileIO.TextFieldParser("C:\TEST\test.txt")
myReader.TextFieldType = FileIO.FieldType.Delimited
myReader.SetDelimiters(
"|")
Dim currentRow As String()
While Not myReader.EndOfData
Try
currentRow = myReader.ReadFields()
Dim currentField As String
For Each currentField In currentRow
MsgBox(currentField)
Next
MsgBox("next line")
Catch ex As Microsoft.VisualBasic.FileIO.MalformedLineException
MsgBox(
"Line " & ex.Message & "is not valid and will be skipped.")
End Try
End While
End Using