how to use connection?

joshtheflame

Programming Experience
3-5
Hi There,
I have been programming in Oracle using PL/SQL since last 5 years and now I have got the oppertunity to develop a system in VB.net using SQLSERVER 2005...Front End is not a problem for me...I want to know the best practices to use SQLSERVER 2005 with VB.net and how to use connection string ...should I pick it up from a file or hardcode inside....Professional guidance will be helpful for me or any reference url's

Thanks

Matt thanks alot for the reply. Need to ask things after review of the links u sent.

1. Professionally which way you suggest or what are the professional practices to create database connection..either through coding like DIM ConnObj as new SqlConnection etc etc or using the View->Data Sources and all?

2. On Each form do I need to create this connection and use or just once using LOGON form and use the other methods to insert, update, retrieve, delete data...a lil confuse I am cause oracle is quite different then this VB. Please help or a sample code will be a great help.

Thanks

its not a good idea of creating connection on every form.. bcoz sometime u have to chg the conn , and u have to go forms and forms to chg it.. please create a global connection with public ... and its good and professional way to work with connections..

and i prefer you to not to open data using dim command everytime or when it is not needed bcoz it will consume ur more time ...just do it where u need to program them , like as u need to create a order system or some query....plz do those with command using dim . .Net developed for reduce ur coding and if u are using dim command of opening data from db , the same thing will do the others so there is no difference between you and others when open table eveytime using dim command .. .. its my idea.. maybe there are other people who different thoughts .

Alim,