Question Question about unbound DataGridView

XiaoHong

Programming Experience
Beginner
Dear All,

I'm very new in VB.NET.
I'm now facing a problem on developing unbound datagridview.
My datagridview consist of 2 column - Column A and column B.

MY problem is when user key in new record on column A and pressed "Tab" or "Enter" button, then i would like the program to check for duplicate column A value. if column A value existed, then i want the program to prompt message to inform user the new value of column A already exist , and then the cursor must focus on column A. How can i do that?

And when user key in new record on column A, if column A value not exist, then i want the cursor to focus on column B instead of next record of column A. How can i do that?

Can anyone help me on it?

Thank you very much!

MY problem is when user key in new record on column A and pressed "Tab" or "Enter" button, then i would like the program to check for duplicate column A value. if column A value existed, then i want the program to prompt message to inform user the new value of column A already exist , and then the cursor must focus on column A. How can i do that?
You want the CellValidating event of the grid. You can get the Value of the current cell and then loop through the rows and compare it to the Value of each cell in the same column. If you find a match then display a message to the user and set e.Cancel to True, which will prevent that cell losing focus.
And when user key in new record on column A, if column A value not exist, then i want the cursor to focus on column B instead of next record of column A. How can i do that?
The Tab key already does exactly that, so if that's what the user wants then they should press the Tab key.

Hi jmcilhinney,

Thanks for yout reply!