Question Run Project on Startup

DerpBane

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello, I'm very new to the whole coding/programming scene...

I've made a project in VB.net 2008. I want the form that it uses to be displayed when my computer starts up - it is basically just a little message, a reminder to do something.

I know there are some recent posts that I have seen describing how to do this, but the coding that they use don't work for me, my vb.net says that they contain errors. I think it might be because I'm running good old 2008.

So here's my question: how do I get my computer to run my vb.net 2008 program on start-up, what could go wrong if I mess the code up somehow, and can you explain some of the reasoning behind the code (it helps me to understand in more depth, every little helps me to improve, although I have already Googled a lot of keywords from previously seen programs and have some understanding)?

thanks? :)

If the code you have didn't work for you then most likely you used it incorrectly. Even if you didn't, the principles will still most likely be sound and you just need a few simple adjustments. Show us what you did and tell us what happened and then we can help you fix the issues.

Public Class Form1
Private Sub AddCurrentKey(ByVal name As String, ByVal path As String)
Dim key As RegistryKey = Registry.CurrentUser.OpenSubKey _
("Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run", True)
key.SetValue(name, path)
End Sub

Private Sub RemoveCurrentKey(ByVal name As String)
Dim key As RegistryKey = Registry.CurrentUser.OpenSubKey _
("Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run", True)
key.DeleteValue(name, False)
End Sub

If CurrentStartup.Checked Then
AddCurrentKey("StartupExample", System.Reflection.Assembly.GetEntryAssembly.Location)
Else
RemoveCurrentKey("StartupExample")
End If

End Class

"Dim Key As RegistryKey" -- Apparently 'type RegistryKey is not defined'