Question Using DataGridView to View/Edit XML

jsurpless

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi all

I'm pretty new to VB.net programming - most of my experience is in VBA Office 2k3 - and I was hoping I've got a pretty easy question...

I've got an XML file that I'd like to display on a form... looking into this a bit, it seems that I'd want to use a DataGridView... so far, I've been able to read the XML into it but I can't quite figure out how to perform edits within the View and then write those out back to the XML...

Here's what I've done so far...

VB.NET:
    Private Sub MatchMakerXML_Editor_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

XMLFilePath.Text = c_MatchMakerXML.XMLFilePath

Dim MatchMakerXML_Dataset As New DataSet

MatchMakerXML_Dataset.ReadXml(c_MatchMakerXML.XMLFilePath)

XMLGridView.DataSource = MatchMakerXML_Dataset.Tables(0)

End Sub

Can someone explain to me why reading the ".Tables(0)" is necessary? I've seen examples without it, so I'm curious... here's my XML file...

VB.NET:
<MATCHLIST>
<MATCH>
<AUTOCAD>UNIT</AUTOCAD>
<DATABASE>UNIT</DATABASE>
</MATCH>
<MATCH>
<AUTOCAD>UNIT</AUTOCAD>
<DATABASE>UNIT</DATABASE>
</MATCH>
</MATCHLIST>

Looking around, I've seen references to GridView_RowUpdating but I guess this doesn't apply to VB.Net?

Many thanks in advance!

-Justin

You don't need .Tables(0) in particular, but if data source is multitable like datasets are you have to specify which table by DataMember property, in this case table(0) is "MATCH".

To save changes get the data source object as DataSet and use WriteXml method. You could also keep the reference to this dataset object as a private class variable and use that instead of getting it from DataSource property like this:
VB.NET:
Dim ds As DataSet = CType(Me.DataGridView1.DataSource, DataSet)
ds.WriteXml("match2.xml")

GridView is an ASP.Net server control, DataGridView is what you are using in windows forms application.

Good Morning John