Question Using DataGridView to View/Edit XML

jsurpless

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi all

I'm pretty new to VB.net programming - most of my experience is in VBA Office 2k3 - and I was hoping I've got a pretty easy question...

I've got an XML file that I'd like to display on a form... looking into this a bit, it seems that I'd want to use a DataGridView... so far, I've been able to read the XML into it but I can't quite figure out how to perform edits within the View and then write those out back to the XML...

Here's what I've done so far...

VB.NET:
    Private Sub MatchMakerXML_Editor_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

XMLFilePath.Text = c_MatchMakerXML.XMLFilePath

Dim MatchMakerXML_Dataset As New DataSet

MatchMakerXML_Dataset.ReadXml(c_MatchMakerXML.XMLFilePath)

XMLGridView.DataSource = MatchMakerXML_Dataset.Tables(0)

End Sub

Can someone explain to me why reading the ".Tables(0)" is necessary? I've seen examples without it, so I'm curious... here's my XML file...

VB.NET:
<MATCHLIST>
<MATCH>
<AUTOCAD>UNIT</AUTOCAD>
<DATABASE>UNIT</DATABASE>
</MATCH>
<MATCH>
<AUTOCAD>UNIT</AUTOCAD>
<DATABASE>UNIT</DATABASE>
</MATCH>
</MATCHLIST>

Looking around, I've seen references to GridView_RowUpdating but I guess this doesn't apply to VB.Net?

Many thanks in advance!

-Justin

If you want to ensure that drawing_match is read only then:

Make the datagridview readonly that displays it
Call MyDataSet.Tables("DRAWING_MATCH").RejectChanges() before you write the file

When you assign Dataset to Datasource only a reference is set, so they both point to the same dataset, whichever reference you use you get the same object. Read help topic Value Types and Reference Types.

I figured it must be some sort of reference arrangement...

Thanks
If you want to ensure that drawing_match is read only then:

Make the datagridview readonly that displays it