Question What can VB.net do that VB6 couldn't?

J Trahair

Programming Experience
10+
I'm an experienced application developer in VB6, and I finally bit the bullet - I've spent a week learning to use VB.net. But what have I achieved?

What can I now do in VB.net that VB6 couldn't? General ideas please (eg. it boils the kettle and makes the toast), I'm not looking for incomprehensible code segments.

Please tell me it was worth it (apart from the fact that Microsoft have taken millions of VB6-ers and dumped them)!

Actualy i'm a vb6 coder also, and i didn't found any diffs, maybe 1 thing, vb.net is compatible with vista. vb6 is not a good friend of vista. :)

Console applications

One of the many things you cannot do in VB6 is create Console applications, which I find very useful for teaching beginners the logic and structure of computer programming without the distraction of the GUI.

The Boolean TryParse() method is very useful for converting strings to numbers without the possibility of an error. No need ever to use On Error GoTo statements.

Option Strict On guarantees proper explicit conversions are made and reduces the incidents of hidden errors resulting from implicit conversions.

OK, console applications - that's writing to the 'DOS' screen. I award 3 out of 5 points. (This is deliberately light-hearted, but with a serious purpose - what's better about .Net?)
Converting string numbers to values: in VB6 you could do
VB.NET:
sngNumber = Val("43")
. I award 1/5 to .Net because it could have caused an error in VB6.
Option Explicit was available in VB6. I award 1/5 because there are some better Options in .Net.
However, none of this actual boils the kettle, let alone makes the toast. (Although these improvements may guarantee some mild heat applied to the kettle, as opposed to just hoping for the best).
I'm looking for ground-breaking stuff.
Keep them coming, please...!

Did you learn everything you can do with VB6 in a week also?