Handling large tables

Greg.NET

Programming Experience
1-3
I have a few tables that have 2-3 million records each and thousands more records are inserted every day. Queries are starting to slow down a lot and Im wondering what would be the best way to handle this.

Usually a record won't be used again after a few months from its insertion date. But once in a great while one from a year ago will be updated, so its not an option to simply delete old records.

If you have any advice for me I would greatly appreciate it!

I am relatively new to sql or any databasing, but I've been reading about sql 2005's partitioning feature and it sounds like my database could benefit from that.

I indexed all the fields that I felt needed to be indexed. But is it at all beneficial to index bit fields or other non selective fields?

It can be very beneficial to index fields in groups. For example:

Tbl_Houses
Fields:
StreetNumber (varchar(10))
StreetName (varchar(55))
IsDemolished (bit)
Field1
Field2
Field3

You are running a select query:

SELECT * FROM Tbl_Houses WHERE StreetNumber = '1' and StreetName = 'Main Street' and IsDemolished = '1'

If you had an index called Address_Demolished that contained both StreetNumber, StreetName amd IsDemolished this would significantly improve the speed of this select statement.

You should create indexes for each type of query you are going to run. The index creates a pointer to the records and will SIGNIFICANTLY increase performance in larger databases. I was working with a databse that contained every address in New York City. Before I created indexes it would take almost a whole day to update the data on a box of images. After creating them this process would take just a few minutes.

As far as creating a single field index for a bit value, I could not see this having a helpful impact because so many of the fields will have the same value. But if you use the bit value in combination with a couple other fields it could be helpful.