Handling large tables

Greg.NET

Programming Experience
1-3
I have a few tables that have 2-3 million records each and thousands more records are inserted every day. Queries are starting to slow down a lot and Im wondering what would be the best way to handle this.

Usually a record won't be used again after a few months from its insertion date. But once in a great while one from a year ago will be updated, so its not an option to simply delete old records.

If you have any advice for me I would greatly appreciate it!

I am relatively new to sql or any databasing, but I've been reading about sql 2005's partitioning feature and it sounds like my database could benefit from that.

Is there anyway you can better explain what each of the joins do because I am still a bit unclear about all of the variants. My understanding is that there are 4 different types:

RIGHT OUTER
LEFT OUTER
RIGHT INNER
LEFT INNER

I think that this is where the confusion is coming in.

There is no right or left inner. Right and Left determine solidity:

suppose the tables are:
LEFT: 1, 2, 3
RIGHT: 1, 2, 4

INNER (no nulls on either side):
left1, right1
left2, right2

LEFT (left side solid, nulls on right):
left1, right1
left2, right2
left3, null

RIGHT (right side solid, nulls on left)
left1, right1
left2, right2
null, right4

FULL OUTER (both sides can have nulls, effectively a LEFT UNION RIGHT, no dupes):
left1, right1
left2, right2
left3, null
null, right4

Other joins are extensions of the JOIN keyword, not the left or rightness. [LEFT/RIGHT/INNER/FULL OUTER] [CROSS/NATURAL] JOIN

For the full list see your DB manual. All combinations might be accepted, even ones that dont make sense (and the sensible one might be performed):
LEFT INNER JOIN --> inner
OUTER JOIN --> full outer
JOIN --> inner

CROSS and NATURAL talk about the way the join is done.
CROSS join has no condition. All rows are the cartesian product of the elements