Hide Tab

triplemaya

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi. I have an app which puts up seven tabs in a basic window, and I need to get rid of two of them. If I delete them, I get a massive list of compile errors - I assume this is because of all of the things on that tab which no longer have a home. The obvious thing to do seems to be to hide these two tabs, but I can find no way to do this. There doesn't seem to be any property to do this with, which I would expect, coming from JAVA. I'd be very grateful if someone can tell me how to do this. I'm totally new to VB, I have been handed a project mostly finished, and I am supposed to deliver a finished product yesterday! I could wade through all the errors deleting all of the objects on these tabs, but I am concerned that this will produce further errors, and it's also going to be very sad indeed if I then need to put it all back!

I have found the post called Tabcontrol1.SelectedTab close?, and I have tried out the code, but it gives me the error "Reference to a non-shared member requires an object reference". I know I ought to know how to fix this, but I can't make it work. I have been to the microsoft reference page on this subject, where it says
  1. Declare the instance as an object variable.
  2. Reference the instance by the variable name.
but I don't know how to do these things.

Please could someone tell me what to type in.

the offending code is

Private TB as tabpage
and

TB = tabcontrol.TabPages(index of the tabpage you want to 'hide')
Tabcontrol.Tabpages.Remove(Your TabPage you want to 'hide')
I think that the tabpage I want to hide is TabControl7, that's the name in the properties box, but I'm not sure what to put in this space. When I type in TabControl7, it tells me that Name TabControl7 is not declared. Nor can I find out the index of this tabpage, unless it is 7. I am not used to working so far from the code and I'm totally lost.

also, when I type in
tabcontrol.TabPages( ...
it changes it to