Question update database table

Status
Not open for further replies.

ED Controls

Programming Experience
Beginner
using visual studio.net 2002 I have a piece of code that is manually run to update a sql server datbase tableThe line of code looks like this:
Update [005].dbo.TMOHistory set TMOADJ = NULL
[005] = database name, TMOHistory is table in database, TMOADJ is collumn in table.
I would like to create a visual studio.net widowns application that can run this code and update the database. I am a controls guy that works mainly with plc's, so I have limited knowledge of vb.net programming. Is this an easy application to do in visual studio.net? Any help or guidance would be greatly appreicated. So far I am able to connect to the server database (I think) using the code below(EVOLUTION is server name). Not sure where to go after that.

myConn = New SqlConnection("Initial Catalog=005;" & _
'"Data Source=EVOLUTION;Integrated Security=SSPI;")

myConn.Open()

Thanks,
-Erik

You're off to a great start with it, creating the connection is the first thing you need to do, what you need to do next is create a SqlCommand object, passing it our myConn variable & pass it the query as a string too. Then call the SqlCommand's ExecuteNonQuery() to actually run it on the DB.

Also, you should create all the needed objects, then use a Try/Catch block around the opening and executing the command inside. Be sure to close the connect and cleanup the objects when done too.

You're off to a great start with it, creating the connection is the first thing you need to do, what you need to do next is create a SqlCommand object, passing it our myConn variable & pass it the query as a string too. Then call the SqlCommand's ExecuteNonQuery() to actually run it on the DB.

Also, you should create all the needed objects, then use a Try/Catch block around the opening and executing the command inside. Be sure to close the connect and cleanup the objects when done too.